UNDERWOOD COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

REGULAR MEETING JULY 12, 2021

MEMBERS PRESENT: RICK LARSON, JEFF BONSALL, MATT BRUMMETT, TERESA

MACE, KEITH PETERSEN

MEMBERS ABSENT: NONE

ADMIN. PRESENT: ED HAWKS

OTHERS PRESENT: LORI LEHAN, SHAWNA HEDEGAARD, KATE STAMP,

STEFANIE TAYLOR, KEITH PETERSEN, ERIN JOHNSEN, KARI BROWN, KIM CARSON, KIMBERLY SCHNECKLOTH, ADAM SCHNECKLOTH, ANNE WOHLERS, BRITTTNI STEPHENS-YATES, JUDD HAWKINS, SARAH HAWKINS, JILL TETTEN, MARIA MECHAELSEN, HEATHER DAVIS, JODI BOSE

Board President Larson called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Public Presenters:

Erin Johnson shared her interest in the board vacancy position.

Bonsall moved to approve the agenda, seconded by Brummett, motion carried 4-0.

Brummett moved to approve the minutes as presented for the June 14, 2021 and June 30, 2021 meetings, seconded by Bonsall, motion carried 4-0.

Mace moved to approve the bills for payment as presented, seconded by Bonsall, motion carried 4-0.

Mace moved to approve the secretary's report as presented, seconded by Bonsall, motion carried 4-0.

Bonsall moved to approve the activities report as presented, seconded by Brummett, motion carried 4-0.

Mace moved to approve the nutrition report as presented, seconded by Bonsall, motion carried 4-0.

Mace moved to approve the appointment of Christi Hartsock as a part-time Library/Media Consultant for the 2021-22 school year, seconded by Brummett, motion carried 4-0.

Bonsall moved to approve the hiring of Jon Williams as an additional High School Football Coach for the 2021-22 school year (Single Season Contract), seconded by Brummett, motion carried 4-0.

Brummett moved to approve the hiring of Sierra Maguire as an additional Assistant High School Volleyball Coach for the 2021-22 school year (Single Season Contract), seconded by Mace, motion carried 4-0.

Bonsall moved to approve the hiring of Sydney Rath as an additional Cross Country Coach for the 2021-22 school year (Single Season Contract), seconded by Mace, motion carried 4-0.

Brummett moved to approve Isaiah Humphrey as a volunteer Assistant High School Football Coach for the 2021-22 School Year, seconded by Bonsall, motion carried 4-0.

Superintendent's Report:

- 2021-22 School Year Registration for all grades will take place at the middle school on Monday, August 2, 2021, from 8 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. and from 2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.
- New teacher orientation will be on Tuesday, August 17, 2021.
- Workshop days for all faculty will be on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, August 18, 19, and 20, 2021.
- Students will begin classes on Monday, August 23, 2021.

Keith Petersen was appointed by a roll call vote to fill the School Board Member vacancy through November 2021, Brummett, Keith Petersen; Larson, Keith Petersen, Mace, Erin Johnsen; and Bonsall, Keith Petersen.

The secretary, Lehan, administered the Oath of Office to Petersen.

Bonsall moved to approve the School District's IASB Legislative Action Priorities for the 2021-22 school year, seconded by Brummett, motion carried 5-0.

Brummett moved to approve the Kindergarten open enrollment request for Asher Elsener to attend Underwood during the 2021-22 school year, seconded by Bonsall, motioned carried 5-0.

Brummett moved to approve the school district's On-Site Return-to-Learn Plan and On-Site Policies and Procedures for this fall, seconded by Petersen, motion carried 5-0.

Brummett moved to approve the John Baylor ACT Online Services Agreement with the Green Hills AEA 13 for a three-year period beginning on August 1, 2021, and ending on July 31, 2024. seconded by Mace, motion carried 5-0.

Brummett moved to approve an increase in the mileage reimbursement rate to fifty (50) cents per mile for approved work travel in a personal vehicle effective July 1, 2021, seconded by Mace, motioned carried 5-0.

Bonsall moved to approve school board sponsorship of a staff breakfast on Wednesday, August 18, 2021, seconded by Mace, motion carried 5-0.

Bonsall moved to adjourn, seconded by Mace, motion carried 5-0. President Larson declared the meeting adjourned at 7:31 p.m.

These minutes are as recorded by the board secretary and subject to approval at the next regular board meeting. Lori Lehan, Board Secretary.