UNDERWOOD COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

ANNUAL BOARD MEETING November 13, 2023

MEMBERS PRESENT: JEFF BONSALL, MATT BRUMMETT, ERIN JOHNSEN, TERESA MACE

MEMBERS ABSENT: RICK LARSON

ADMIN. PRESENT: ANDY IRWIN, TYLER HAMILTON, MATT MCDONOUGH, NICOLE MURRAY

OTHERS PRESENT: LORI LEHAN, MIKE NEWMAN, JESSICA JAY, KATHY HUFF, JILL TETEN, MADELINE

REINEKE, MARY STEPHENS, JOHNATHON HAROLD, BEN HAROLD, SARAH

RODENBURG, KYLE RODENBURG, MITCH KAY, ALLISON BRITTEN, KATE FITZPATRICK

President Bonsall called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Kathy Huff spoke regarding district dispatch.

Brummett moved to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Johnsen, motion carried 4-0.

Brummett moved to approve the bills for payment, approval of the financial reports and approval of the board minutes for October 9 and October 25 of 2023 as presented, seconded by Mace, motion carried 4-0.

Review of Election Results;

Jessica Jay 299 votes
Matt Brummett 487 votes
Teresa Mace 478 votes
Mitchell A. Kay
Scattering 25 votes

Public Measure SD - 449 Yes / 393 No - Not Adopted

Brummett moved to adjourn, seconded by Johnsen, motion carried 4-0. Board President Bonsall declared the meeting adjourned at 7:08 p.m.

These minutes are as recorded by the board secretary and subject to approval at the next regular board meeting. Lori Lehan, Board Secretary

UNDERWOOD COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

ORGANIZATIONAL/REGULAR BOARD MEETING

November 13, 2023

MEMBERS PRESENT: JEFF BONSALL, MATT BRUMMETT, ERIN JOHNSEN, MITCHELL KAY, TERESA MACE

MEMBERS ABSENT: NONE

ADMIN. PRESENT: ANDY IRWIN, TYLER HAMILTON, MATT MCDONOUGH, NICOLE MURRAY

OTHERS PRESENT: LORI LEHAN, MIKE NEWMAN, JESSICA JAY, KATHY HUFF, JILL TETEN, MADELINE

REINEKE, MARY STEPHENS, JOHNATHON HAROLD, BEN HAROLD, SARAH

RODENBURG, KYLE RODENBURG, MITCH KAY, ALLISON BRITTEN, KATE FITZPATRICK

Superintendent Irwin as President Pro-Tem called the meeting to order at 7:09 p.m.

Mace moved to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Johnsen, motion carried 5-0.

Board Secretary/Treasurer Lehan swore in the newly-elected board members; Matt Brummett, Mitchell Kay and Teresa Mace.

Brummett moved to nominate Jeff Bonsall as President, with no other nominations, the nomination was seconded by Mace, nomination was carried 4-0, with Bonsall abstaining.

Superintendent Irwin turned the meeting over to newly-elected board President Bonsall.

Mace moved to nominate Matt Brummett as Vice-President, with no other nominations, the nomination was seconded by Johnsen, nomination was carried 4-0, with Brummett abstaining.

Rick Larson was recognized and thanked for his years of public service to the Underwood Community School District.

Mace moved to establish the first Monday following the eighth of the month at 7:00 p.m. in the middle school media center as the date, time and location of regular meetings, seconded by Johnsen, motion carried 5-0.

Johnsen moved to approve <u>Robert's Rules of Order</u> when conducting meetings, seconded by Mace, motion carried 5-0.

Superintendent Report:

Facilities Update by Grounds Director, Mike Newman Financial Spending Update Update on meeting with Sitelogic regarding HVAC repairs

Principals' Report:

- A/R Parties, Pumpkin Donations, Excellent Conference Attendance
- Winter Sports Updates Boys' and Girls' Wrestling and Basketball
- Football Update Made it to the DOME
- Variety Show and Play Update
- Special Education Bowling Update and Swimming Update
- Principal / District Leadership Team Update
- Dual Credit Update Calculus and Pre-Calculus

Johnsen moved to approve the contracts of Trevor Paulsen and Evan Schnack as co-assistant high school wrestling coaches for the 2023-24 school year, seconded by Mace, motion carried 5-0.

Brummett moved to cast the weighted vote for Edward Gambs as Greenhills AEA Director District Number 5 for the Area Education Agency Board of Directors, seconded by Kay, motion carried 5-0.

Brummett moved to approve the revised Underwood Fitness Center Rules and Regulations, seconded by Johnsen, motion carried 5-0.

Brummett moved to adjourn, seconded by Johnsen, motion carried 5-0. Board President Bonsall declared the meeting adjourned at 7:31 p.m.

These minutes are as recorded by the board secretary and subject to approval at the next regular board meeting. Lori Lehan, Board Secretary.