UNDERWOOD COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

REGULAR MEETING March 13, 2023

MEMBERS PRESENT: JEFF BONSALL, MATT BRUMMETT, ERIN JOHNSEN, RICK LARSON, TERESA MACE

MEMBERS ABSENT: NONE

ADMIN. PRESENT: ANDY IRWIN, TYLER HAMILTON, MATT MCDONOUGH, NICOLE MURRAY

OTHERS PRESENT: LORI LEHAN, PAGE WIESE, BETH RASMUSSEN, JESS RASMUSSEN, LORI TIARKS, SARAH

RODENBURG, KYLE RODENBURG, MICHELE PAXTON, JODI JENSEN, MICHELLE SOLOTH.

SARAH DOLCH, JESSICA JAY, JILL TETEN, NOAH FERRY, BRODY PAXTON

President Bonsall called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Brummett moved to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Larson, motion carried 5-0.

Johnsen moved to approve the bills for payment, approval of the financial reports and approval of the minutes of February 13, 2023, February 15, 2023, February 17, 2023 and February 23, 2023 meetings as presented, seconded by Mace, motion carried 5-0.

Superintendent Report:

- Pottawattamie County Sheriff's Department planning to hire a School Resource Officer (SRO) and will offer services to Underwood and a few surrounding school districts
- Buddy Berry, a national speaker, will present on March 15th for the all staff professional development

Elementary School Principal/Curriculum Director's Report:

- Teacher Conferences next week
- Professional development on cooperative engagement and a digital walkthrough form for use in the classroom

Middle School Principal/Activity Director's Report:

- Two Underwood students were on the winning championship bowling team at state
- Quiz Bowl hosted at Underwood this week

High School Principal/Curriculum Director's Report:

- Quiz Bowl team placed 2nd and will compete at state and Speech had one state qualifier
- The play, Alibis, will take place March 17th & 18th at 7:00 pm in the high school auditorium
- •FCCLA will hold an Easter egg hunt at the high school
- •DC trip March 24th 28th

Teacher, Page Wiese, shared her classroom activity "Genius Hour", while her student, Beth Rasmussen, presented her steps in creating a middle school bowling team.

Mace moved to accept the following resignations: Dan Kvigne as transportation director effective June 30, 2023, Steve Raymond as junior high football coach, Stacy Ambrose as a TLC instructional strategist and Debra Kline-Mullins as a middle school associate effective at the end of the 2022-23 school year, seconded by Larson, motion carried 5-0.

Brummett moved to approve the hiring of Anna Murphy as an elementary classroom teacher for the 2023-24 school year, Grady Killpack as a junior high assistant track coach for 2022-23 season and Collin Shutters as an assistant boys' soccer coach for the 2022-23 season, seconded by Larson, motion carried 5-0.

Mace moved to approve Andy Irwin, David Mundt and Ray Spiegel as volunteer assistant boys' and girls' track coaches for the 2022-23 season, seconded by Brummett, motion carried 5-0.

Brummett moved to approve the second reading of Board Policy 405.11 Licensed Employee Professional Development, seconded by Johnsen, motion carried 5-0.

Brummett moved to approve the 2023-24 school calendar, seconded by Johnsen, motion carried 5-0.

Budget Information for the 2023/2024 school year was shared by the superintendent. Larson moved to approve the management levy at \$470,000 for the 2023-24 school year, seconded by Johnsen, motion carried 5-0.

Larson moved to set the public hearing on the 2023/2024 budget on April 10th at 7:00 p.m., seconded by Brummett, motion carried 5-0.

Piper Sandler will be presenting at the April 10th regular board meeting discussing funding availability and amounts that could potentially be raised. The board requests Sitelogic to share cost estimates of facility improvements at that time.

Brummett moved to go into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(c) to discuss strategy with counsel in matters that are likely in litigation or where litigation is imminent where its disclosure would be likely to prejudice or disadvantage the position of the governmental body in that litigation, seconded by Larson, motion carried by a roll call vote, Johnsen, aye; Larson, aye; Bonsall, aye; Brummett, aye.

The board entered closed session at 7:50 p.m.

The board exited closed session at 7:58 p.m.

Larson moved to approve and authorize a settlement agreement in the litigated matter of Beverage v. Underwood Community School District, Case No. LACV121540 whereby the District's insurer will pay \$75,000 and the District will pay \$10,000, where said settlement and payment is deemed to be for a public purpose and in the best interest of the District, seconded by Mace, motion carried by a roll call vote, Larson, aye; Mace, aye; Bonsall, aye; Brummett, aye; Johnsen, aye.

Brummett moved to adjourn, seconded by Larson, motion carried 5-0. Board President Bonsall declared the meeting adjourned at 8:05 p.m.

The Board of Directors met under Chapter 20.17(3) of the Code of Iowa to discuss negotiation strategies.

These minutes are as recorded by the board secretary and subject to approval at the next regular board meeting. Lori Lehan, Board Secretary.